6 comments on “Edit… to last post

  1. Actually, it really doesn’t get that much harder. Longer to get the exp, sure, but not really harder. At least you don’t need five other people holding your hand to get things accomplished anymore, unlike in FFXI.

    You should get your sister to refer your account through Rever-A-Friend. You guys get 300% exp if you level together and are within 2 levels of each other. Really makes leveling fast and easy. πŸ˜› (That, and she gets a neat zebra mount if you pay for 3 months.)

  2. I really should consider picking up WoW again. I played it for awhile during one of my multiple FFXI hiatuses and was turned off by the lack of difficulty; but I’m realizing that some of the perceived difficulty in FFXI was either self-imposed or the result of expectations that can’t be fulfilled due to the way that I play.

    WoW seems to fit my style, but I can’t help thinking that the next big MMO is turning the corner next year or something. Know what I mean? It’s like buying a computer for the long haul and worrying that it’ll be obsolete in a year.

    Decisions decisions…

  3. Hey there Frohike!
    I think you are right, things are not necessarily “difficult” in FFXI if you think it out, and have a decent stable group of people to play with, but thats been the trick.. is finding the quality people who play. You guys with Dark Eden were wonderful, the Tortuga linkshell I had on Ramuh was so much fun, but sadly both seemed to have diminished to the point where no one or very few was ever on. I tried, but I don’t like the huge linkshells, because I feel out of place there with no real friendships. So I agree, it probably is more the way I want to play interfere’s with my enjoyment lately. I’m social but picky I guess, I don’t have much time, so I want to get the most out of it.

    Sometimes I roll my eyes at just how easy WoW seems to be. Last night I played for an hour, completed like 6 different quests, and fought an “Elite” (NM for our purposes ^^) that was listed as it should have taken a group to fight. I had little problem at all.

    On the other hand, it is nice to login for a short time and actually feel like I’ve at least progressed, even if it is on my own. Ya, its seems very easy so its like its even a different kind of entertainment. If you die in WoW, you don’t really lose anything, you shrug it off, and its less frustrating, you just run back and try again. Because of this, I’m not sure you get as “close” to your character as you do in FFXI where messing up and having your character die, does affect you.

    As far as the next big MMO – let me know when you hear of it.. ^^ I think there would be far less guilt canceling WoW to try something new, as its not hard to get levels if you had to start over again. If you do pick up WoW again, I’m on the Malygos Server. I have Karynna, (and a Katella (Priest), but I think I’m going to delete her and remake her.)

    Sorry for the book.. lol
    Hopefully talk to you again soon ^^
    Serina aka *Katella*
    “Forever a taru in disguise”.. lol

  4. You guys with Dark Eden were wonderful, the Tortuga linkshell I had on Ramuh was so much fun, but sadly both seemed to have diminished to the point where no one or very few was ever on. I tried, but I don’t like the huge linkshells, because I feel out of place there with no real friendships.

    It’s a shame to hear that so much seems to have been lost

  5. I’ve started a Shaman named Frohike on the same server as you πŸ˜‰ Took awhile to download the patches, etc, but I’m having fun so far.

  6. Come to the dark side… and stay!

    We have cookies!

    I really should have kept up with my FFXI blogs – I didn’t realise you’d moved to the Ifrit server – I’d have popped on and said Hi if I knew!

    Shame WoW is separated by region… Though that did get rather irksome in FFXI, it was fun to meet people from all over.

Leave a Reply

