10 comments on “What makes a good community member?

  1. What is important to me is finding a community that is understanding of that we all work to support our gaming habits and that we are looking for a place to escape and relax away from our daily life activities. No one needs to feel pressured to report in to an event that they may not be able to attend because of their Jobs or personal life. Also the people in a community is vital to its success..In the the Marine Corps we have a saying ..A good squad reflects it’s leader. So i feel Good leadership reflects a good community which leads to a pleasant experience for all parties involved. Haha <-No pun intended lol. Some players come to a Community for support and acceptance that they may not get in the real world and the relationships that are created makes for a great and meaningful experience. Not to mention the life long friendships that can be created. So to sum it up a community with understanding,support, and proper etiquette is most important to me after all it's just a game.

    • I think you bring up a huge point, simply being respectful of that the players are real people with real life obligations, and aren’t just here for your entertainment goes a long way. Thanks so much for the feedback! Much appreciated! ^^

  2. What makes a good community? The people. What makes the people of XI/XIV different from others? We work together. I don’t just mean end game either. From the beginning, there are opportunities for us to grow and get to know each other. Other games have this, but it doesn’t permeate into the game as much as it does for Final Fantasy XI and XIV. Sure, you COULD do things by yourself, but eventually you hit a road block and you need the help of people to get you along. Many players (not all) who play XI/XIV, are also players who have played the Final Fantasy series and are familiar with that sense of working together as a team or partnership (as is the case for XIII-2 and Crystal Chronicles). Just as one song from Final Fantasy IX suggest, “You are not alone”.

    Because of this, you often time find the Japanese mentality of teamwork also comes through to the NA and EU side. When someone struggles, we don’t just leave them behind. We wait and pick them up and tell them “Good job!” when they manage to succeed. We congratulate others because we know for ourselves that the journey is either hard, tedious, or long,and that the milestones of success is something to take a moment to recognize that people have accomplished.

    Members themselves encourage you, pick you up when you are down, and celebrate with you when you have accomplished something. I don’t get excited the game gives me a pretty graphic to tell me I leveled up; I get excited when my friends tell me congrats! and then tell me “Oh, you are just five levels away from x, y, or z! I can’t wait to help you!” Another good example is when it comes to leveling jobs/classes. Of course people have things they need to level, but its even cooler when you find people in an LS or a friend who will ask to party up with you to make it more of a joint/team endeavor. Some people don’t think of it as a chore to do things, they think of it as an opportunity to play with other cool people. I know i would rather level up a class/job with friends and good people, versus going at it alone even when I know I could do things 10x faster if I actually did things by myself.

    Ergh, and sorry. >_< This is long. I am rambling and I could say more, but I'll stop. T_T

    • Calaera, your feedback is much appreciated, and your reply is perfect and worth a post in itself. You bring up some very true points! Thanks again! ^^

      • Aw, thank you! 🙂 I did bring up your entry on a live show we did last night. It won’t be up though since it was mostly experimental. 😦 But I do plan to bring it up again on a show we will do next week. 🙂

  3. Caleara brought me here! I’m glad she retweeted your blog too.

    I am always very interested in this subject. I have long sought to answer this magical question and the answers are pretty complex. I contend that game mechanics have the biggest impact on how a community treats itself. (http://danforthwright.blogspot.com/2013/04/that-community-feeling.html) I also believe that Square Enix has made games that encourage teamwork and reward selfless behavior. Games that don’t have those mechanics breed a completely different community. There are so many cultural aspects, as some have rightly pointed out, that can influence a community for good and bad. The fact that Japanese players, in general, are extremely polite has a huge impact on the overall community behavior.

    However, FFXIV ARR is introducing several game mechanics that will make teamwork optional, whereas in FFXI they were essential. Also, we are going to choose regional servers for connectivity benefits, and perhaps expose ourselves to many more “less polite” players than in the past.

    I wrote my blog covering these details in the hopes that somebody could help me find more answers. Perhaps your efforts will resolve so many of my own unanswered questions. I look forward to this project.

    • Hi there, and welcome ^^ Thanks so much for your feedback, it is very helpful, and I will definitely go check out you posts on similar aspects of this topic!

  4. So many good points made. I’ll give my two cents:

    I think the XIV community has benefited from so many people players that migrated from XI. Calaera and Danforth have already mentioned the spirit of teamwork that many players have brought along from XI, but I think another virtue that transferred over is that of patience.

    Patience is an integral part of good interaction especially in an online community. It allows us to stop for a moment and actually listen to one another. From patience comes understanding and compassion. Patient players are more willing to help and teach new content to players unfamiliar with it. They don’t need to rush to endgame or to finish content over the needs of everyone else.

    XI was a rewarding experience and I will cherish the memories I have of it, but I will admit that it required a significant investment of time and a great deal of patience. Whether it was waiting hours for a party to form and then disbanding shortly after everyone was assembled or losing hours upon hours of progress by losing experience after dying, there were many trials that tested the mettle and patience of many players. In the end, all those experiences steeled the resolve of many and we emerged much richer and more mature. Much like fledgling adventure returning one day as a grizzled veteran, XI cultivated our experiences and broadened our perspective.

    Despite years of experience, we have not forgotten that fledgling adventurer who entered into Vana’diel wide-eyed and ignorant. I’ve encountered many players who have needed someone to lend their time to give them a guiding hand and I never hesitate to give it. That’s because I know that I once was that player and the help I received starting out changed my whole experience.

    • Also very good points! The ability to have empathy for other players because we’ve been through the journey ourselves lends well to encouraging patience, and having patience is huge! I totally agree! Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

