32 comments on “Understanding your Square Enix Account! (Outdated)

    • Hmm.. sorry if I was unclear. Your SE Account can host up to 8 Service Accounts. Each Service Account in your SE Account will cost you a subscription fee. This means you could actually have to pay up to 8 subscription fees if you don’t pay attention to what you are doing.

      Also one PC and one PS3 version of the game can be tied to the same Service Account to give access to both. It works the same as it had in FFXI for that part. Each Service Account can have multiple characters tied to it, however they cannot be used at the same time.

      • How do I set that up? I want my ps3 account tied to my old 1.0 chars but I have no clue how to do this. If I could bring in my old chars from 1.0 on PC to my ps3, that would be really awesome!

    • Also, the link you posted is for people who specifically want to dual box and play multiple characters at the exact same time. You can’t be logged into two characters from the same Service Account at the same time regardless of version. Those individuals would have to have two separate active Service Accounts (either under the same SE Account, or two separate SE Accounts). They would have to pay multiple subscription fees in order to do this.

  1. so i dont need to make a square enix MEMBER account to play FF XIV ARR. I just need a square enix account and I can enter the serial key into the account. because i was wondering if I have to make a MEMBER account to enter the serial and link it to the squareenix account. And i want to know if I can play in french if i purchase the NA version in the NA Square enix site and play in eu server because I live in quebec and i want to play with french people.

    • The beautiful thing about FFXIV, is that you should be able to find French players to do content with even if they aren’t necessarily on the same server with you, using Duty Finder, and selecting “French” as the preferred language. That said, just know that anytime you filter by language, it has the chance of increasing your wait time.

      The SE Member’s account is more for player rewards. I do not actually believe that you have to have a SE Member’s account at all as you can register / create a Square Enix account here https://secure.square-enix.com/account/app/svc/login?cont=account . There you can set up payment, register game codes, all without ever touching the SE Member’s site. Right now the ability to enter in codes at the link provided is disabled, but it will return closer to launch.

      I didn’t ever have to touch my SE Members account, so I don’t believe it is necessary at all.

      Hope that helps.

    • I’ll look at it again, however I’m under the impression you can choose what language the game uses on the launcher, so you should be able to select French from there. I know I’ve accidentally changed mine to Japanese at one point, and then put it back to English in one of the earlier beta phases. Option should still be on the client launcher, but like I said, I’ll check and see if I can get you a better answer.🙂

  2. Just to clarify: I have a Square Enix Account with 1 FFXIV Service Account (Non-Legacy, with a Character i don´t really care about). As far as i understand,i can create a new FFXIV Service Account on the same Square Enix Account with a pre-ordered 2.0 CE as soon as the Registration is open again,with all the Goodies (pre-order and CE).

    Did i get that right?

    • Hmm.. I’m not sure about this one. The Member’s site is totally separate. Its seems more for recording all your purchased SE Titles, I haven’t used it a bunch, but I think he might be fine to use it on his regular SE Account when the opportunity arises. Though like I said.. I can’t say that for sure because I’ve not come across that before. My best suggestion would be for him to contact SE support directly.

  3. I was wondering if anyone can help me. I signed up for a square enix account but it says my email is already registered. So i tried to do the whole forgot password deal and it tells me that there is no account with this email registered. Is there anything i can do?

  4. Hi, I would like to know if any of you could answer me to this: Me and my girlfriend want to play together on different pc’s ofc, and we heard about the: 2 registration keys in 1 ffxiv account can make you to play 2 characters at same time, does it means, you just have to pay 1 fee and you can play 2 characters on different pcs? or I am wrong?:/ thanks in advance! ( Sorry for my english )

    • @Slecrety Hi there.🙂 So I’ve never actually dual boxed before, so I’ve not seen it before but here is Square Enix’s post on it: http://support.jp.square-enix.com/faqarticle.php?kid=67225&id=5382&la=1

      I do know that you have to pay one subscription fee per account, and I don’t believe you can login to both at the same time, so I think you would still have to pay two subscription fees regardless. However I’ve not tried it myself so that post might answer your question better than I am able to. Good Luck!

  5. I have a quick quesiton I hope someone can help with…

    So, back in 2010 I got the CE for really cheap from gamestop…I went home and MUST have registered it to my original account.

    See, I recently found my way back into that old account and it says I have FFXIV registered on the account, for sept 3 2010. HOWEVER ,it does not say it’s a CE..so I’m wondering if I’ll get the free upgrade or not?

    Also, I never got a chance to play thanks to the krysta system…so I guess I’m not a legacy member?

    Any help?

    • @Kasoon I have a friend that also believes that he bought a CE account, but with the recent changes in preparation for launch, my account no longer shows the CE Distinction data either. I’d say you might want to call and find out, or just wait a bit until they launch the new Mog Station site that should allow us to register codes, because in theory, it should show us what codes are already on the account. If all fails though, I’d call and find out.

      Square Enix Support Center: 1-858-790-7529

  6. So any idea on what we do if there is no options list button under our active service accounts? I only have a cancel service button.

    • I have the same issue – no “options list” under my FFXIV (it’s only under my active FFXI product)

      • Yes, they have disabled the options list right now. Mine is the same as what you describe now. I’m not sure how we get to that information, I’ll keep looking. If they change it I’ll write up a new post though.

    • @SithSyn You are correct, they have disabled the Options button for the time being. I don’t know of a way yet to see that section, at least not until they put it back.

      If I find it, I’ll write up a new post on whatever the new system is.

  7. I have 1 big cuestion…
    In my account appears the same 2 accounts..
    In the #1 i not legacy.
    In the #2 il created for play beta phase 3 and phase 4 ( il transfered my char of #1 to #2 before phase 4 )
    My question:
    Il bougth ps3 versión and registered in account #2… il play on early acces and release on both systems?
    Ty

  8. So, if i understand it right: In ps3, I have a SonyEntertainment Network linked to a Square Enix account, ok i login i play, etc. If i want to login with a different Square Enix ID, (for example: MrAwesome) i have to create another SonyEntertainment Network account to link it to MrAwesome, is that right ?
    By the way, how many Square Enix accounts can i have ?

  9. You’ve got a real genius for writing my pal. I’m so
    happy I stumbled across this website and greatly
    look forward to more of your excellent posts.

Leave a Reply

